Posted in Austin, Texas, House renovation

Home Renovation: Finished Product!

I started this blog when we purchased and renovated our first home in Austin, TX. We bought the house knowing we were going to undertake a big project but on a clear budget, and all of the home reno blogs I found were geared toward super high-end projects (I’m looking at you, Houzz). The homes were beautiful, sure – but way out of our price range.

So if you skip back in time to my earliest posts, you’ll read all about the renovation process on our South Austin home. But I lost focus (read: had another baby) and forgot that super important part of the project, the BIG REVEAL! Here, in all its professionally photographed glory, is the finished product…

Sadly – as in, really sadly, I cried when I handed over the keys to the new owner – we wound up selling our house when we moved back to London. However, the renovation paid off, and we wound up recooping everything we invested in the house, plus a teeny tiny bit extra. Not bad, considering we’d owned it for exactly two years. (My eyes are stinging as I write this post. Thinking about this house still makes me emotional!) Here’s a super short summary of what we did:

  • Bought a 3 bed, one bath, 940 sq ft 1960s ranch house in South Austin just off of Manchaca Rd (pronounced Manchack by locals, dunno why)
  • Added 460 sq ft to the back of the house, creating an L-shaped structure
  • New square footage included a tiny bit of extra living room space, plus a master suite with a bath, walk-in closet, and laundry room
  • We also added a 220 sq ft screened in porch that used the same slab foundation and roof as the rest of the structure
  • Updated the existing house with paint, skirting boards, interior and exterior doors, new siding, landscaping, a new tub in the family bathroom, and all new wiring
  • Total budget for renovations: $100k

Actually, that seems like a lot! In fact, I might just have enough confidence after tackling this project to consider doing another renovation when we eventually buy a home in London. Check back in a few months to see if Autumn 2017 finds us looking for another general contractor…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author:

Texan, teacher, writer, reader: that’s me in a nutshell. Originally from Texas, I now live in London with my husband (he’s a Brit) and our two boys. I spend my time devouring books (especially young adult/middle grade fiction), baking cookies and generally going in ten directions at once. More than a decade ago, I moved to London for a teaching job, met my husband, stayed, and started a family. The last few years have been a whirlwind: in 2013, we moved to Austin, TX and I decided to stay at home with our son; in 2014, we bought and renovated a house in South Austin; in 2015, we welcomed our second son at a local birth center...and in 2016, we packed up and moved back to London! 2017 is set to see more changes as our eldest little starts school and I head back to the classroom. Read on for renovation info, book reviews, creative writing posts, and the general flotsam and jetsam of my life.

2 thoughts on “Home Renovation: Finished Product!

Leave a Reply

