Posted in House renovation

Breaking ground

The permits have been approved and work is underway! So far part of the house has been resided in Hardyplank and foundation prep is starting (they’ve marked out the space for the foundation and excavated for the footers). I’ll try to snap a photo this week so we can document progress – after almost three months of no visible changes, it’s pretty exciting to see the shape of things to come.

There have been small snags – the wrong style of internal doors turned up, the tub we wanted in the original bath is an inch too long – but nothing major yet (knock on wood). Let’s hope it stays that way. We’re waiting to process our first change order: upgrading the laundry room floor and drywall to fit in with the rest of the addition as it will be off the new master bath. We think this is a change that we’ll appreciate as well as future buyers.

I’ve got to say that for a long time I’ve kind of forgotten about/not been excited about the house. Dealing with morning sickness and other aspects of pregnancy put the house on the back burner, but now that I’m at the halfway mark and final feeling better, I’ve got enough energy to think about the details again.

Author:

Texan, teacher, writer, reader: that’s me in a nutshell. Originally from Texas, I now live in London with my husband (he’s a Brit) and our two boys. I spend my time devouring books (especially young adult/middle grade fiction), baking cookies and generally going in ten directions at once. More than a decade ago, I moved to London for a teaching job, met my husband, stayed, and started a family. The last few years have been a whirlwind: in 2013, we moved to Austin, TX and I decided to stay at home with our son; in 2014, we bought and renovated a house in South Austin; in 2015, we welcomed our second son at a local birth center...and in 2016, we packed up and moved back to London! 2017 is set to see more changes as our eldest little starts school and I head back to the classroom. Read on for renovation info, book reviews, creative writing posts, and the general flotsam and jetsam of my life.

Leave a Reply

